Elsewhere on the Internet: Doing It For Yourself

Scenes of Eating

The Billfold looks at the pros and cons of hiring a service to provide you with quality ingredients from local farmers in the appropriate quantities for a meal. The two major perks of this service–you save time on shopping, and you don’t have to manage a lot of food waste–are two reasons why it wouldn’t be a great fit for me: I live near enough to several fresh markets that shopping is not a problem, and transforming food waste into more food is part of the fun for me. (Indeed, this seems like a good time to mention my newest Pinterest board, Waste Not Want Not, where I started keeping track of the ways I’ve found to use up odds and ends or preserve foods that come in quantity.) But I mention it because the existence of several different delivery services for food you must then cook yourself suggests a sea change in…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

